First day of the Standard Process Purification Program….here we go!


Breakfast:
Drank between 8-9 am, began to feel hungry about 10:30 am
  • SP Complete Dairy-Free shake w/ Whole Food Fiber
  • 1.5 cups frozen raspberries
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 8 oz water
  • stevia
  • 7 Cleanse capsules

AM Snack:
11:30
  • clementine
Lunch:
1:30
  • big salad (romaine, spinach, cuke, mushrooms, tomato, red bell pepper, cauliflower)
  • 1.5 tsp olive oil
  • squeeze lemon juice
  • s/p

PM Snack:
3:30, hungry again at 5:30
  • SP Complete Dairy-Free shake w/ Whole Food Fiber
  • 1 c frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 8 oz water
  • stevia
  • 7 Cleanse capsules


Dinner:
7:00

  • 1/2 c quinoa
  • zucchini, onion, mushrooms, roma tomato, fresh basil…lightly sauteed in EVOO
  • asparagus fries w/ sea salt and EVOO

Snack:
9:30 pm
  • SP Complete Dairy-Free shake
  • 1 c frozen raspberries
  • 8 oz water
  • stevia
  • 7 Cleanse capsules

Notes:

The shakes taste rather earthy and green, though not entirely unpleasant.  It does take a little getting used to.  Adding fruit helps, and while stevia isn’t mentioned in the program, it’s an herb so I felt it was okay to add it.

“Asparagus fries” was a recipe in the SP booklet.  Toss asparagus stalks with EVOO and sea salt, and broil until slightly browned.  I have always liked asparagus, but not necessarily loved it.  However, these were insanely delicious!  Browned and almost nutty.

A word about oil…it does seem like I’m using a lot. The basic smoothie recipe calls for 1 Tbsp, and the program calls for 2-3 smoothies a day.  For the salad and asparagus, I used about 1.5 tsp, and about another Tbsp for the zucchini.  A Tbsp of EVOO is 14g of fat, but only 2g of that is saturated and the rest are healthy fats.  Since oil is the only fat I’m getting, it’s not excessive.  Next time I’m out I’ll pick up some flax oil, for another healthful choice.

I won’t use coconut oil often, because it is almost entirely saturated fat.  Even so, it has a lot of health benefits and many different uses.

The only difference I’ve noticed today is that I’m peeing a lot more often, and I feel hungry more often since I can’t just reach in the pantry and grab something.  Yes, I can eat as much veggies and fruit as I want, but that’s just not as appealing or quite as easy as popping a cracker or a couple of pretzels.

And I’d really like a couple of cookies!