I’ve had a 10 oz bag of butternut squash in my freezer for several months.  It needed to be used up, and I decided to make soup.  As is my custom, I looked at several recipes to get ideas, and then threw something together.  It was quite tasty!

  • 1/4 cup each, chopped carrots, celery, and onion
  • 1/2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp grape seed oil, or EVOO
  • about 2 cups cubed, cooked butternut squash
  • 1 to 1-1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/4 tsp dried sage
  • salt and pepper to taste

Sauté carrots, celery, onion and garlic in oil until soft.  If needed, you can add a splash of vegetable broth during this process, rather than adding more oil.  Add the squash and the broth; bring to a boil and let simmer for 5 minutes.  Stir in sage, salt, and pepper.  Process until smooth in a blender or food processor.  Makes 1-2 servings, depending on how hungry you are!

**Note: Wolfgang Puck’s Vegetable Stock is not gluten-free, so if gluten is an issue for you, please use a different brand.

blogoct11

 

I’d like to make my own vegetable broth sometime, but in this case I took the easy route and bought a box of it.  Wolfgang Puck was the best combination of price and ingredients available at Walmart.   I am in the process of testing other brands; Trader Joe’s has better (fewer) ingredients, but isn’t as rich or tasty.  Do check the ingredient list, though; some have nasty stuff like MSG.

Sharing at Allergy Friendly Friday.

