I originally tried the Pumpkin Pie Shake recipe that’s in the Standard Process Purification Program pamphlet and it wasn’t too great.  However, something with “pumpkin pie” in its name has potential, so I tried my own recipe.

  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup rice milk, preferably vanilla
  • 2 scoops SP Complete (I use Dairy Free)
  • 1 scoop  SP Whole Food Fiber
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp each, nutmeg and ginger
  • a little bit of stevia, if desired
  • ice

Give it a whirl in the blender, and enjoy!

While the straight SPPP doesn’t allow rice milk, it does defer to your attending physician.  Mine (who happens to be my chiropractor husband, Craig) said he was okay with it.  I occasionally use it in a shake, but that’s all.

If you make it with water, maybe try adding a few drops of pure vanilla extract (but I haven’t tried this so can’t guarantee the taste).

Even if you are not doing the SP Purification,  the Complete powder is very healthful.  However, barring that, try a vanilla whey protein.  If you are dairy-free, I know there are choices out there but I haven’t tried them so I’m not able to recommend one at this point.  Once I’m done the SPPP, I’ll be looking into it.

