I was pretty skeptical about this recipe, because it just sounded like an odd combination, but I was looking for something to do with tuna that did not involve mayonnaise, and I had leftover rice in the fridge.  As it turns out, I was pleasantly surprised!  I would totally eat this again.  While the original recipe calls for romaine, I only had a spring/spinach mix, so that’s what I used.

Ingredients for 1 serving:

  • 1/2 cup cooked brown rice
  • 2-3 cups romaine or other greens, chopped
  • 1/2 carrot, grated
  • 1/2 can albacore tuna
  • 2 tsp EVOO
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

(The original recipe includes cooking the rice, then mixing it with the greens so they will wilt slightly.  I heated my leftover rice in the microwave, but you could skip this step.)

Toss rice, greens, carrot, and tuna together.  Combine EVOO, balsamic, salt and pepper.  Pour over salad and toss.  Serve.

It looks pretty, too!

IMG_0144

