I’m not sure what to call this day, because I’m done the SPPP, but haven’t officially started the MS Recovery Diet.  As I said, I’m probably not going to change a whole lot, but I am going out to lunch with Craig today, and doggone it, I’m strongly considering getting a Java Chip Frappuccino at Starbucks!

Breakfast:

Shake w/ 2 scoops Complete, 1 scoop Fiber, frozen raspberries, 1 cup rice milk, 5 drops chocolate stevia.  It turned out a little too sweet with both the rice milk and stevia (even though the rice milk is unsweetened).  Next time I would just add cocoa powder and no stevia.

Lunch:

Craig and I went to Panera.  I got You Pick Two with 1/2 Café Salad and 1/2 Sierra Turkey sandwich, with water to drink.  After three weeks of no bread, the asiago focaccia was like manna from heaven!  Of course, the sandwich contained all 5 of the restricted ingredients on the MSRD (gluten, egg, dairy, soy, and yeast).  The 1/2 sandwich is listed as having 6g saturated fat.

The café salad’s only issue was the reduced fat balsamic vinaigrette, which I used very little of.  It contains soy, and 1g sat fat.

Then, we went to Starbucks, where the guy talked me into trying the new Salted Caramel Mocha Frappuccino.  Detailed ingredient lists don’t seem to be available, but I know it had milk, and oodles of sugar.  And since I forgot to request fat-free milk, my frapp had 2g sat fat.  Oh, and it was delicious!

My daily saturated fat allowance on the MSRD is 15g, and lunch took up 9g.  I’ll probably go vegetarian for dinner.

Snack:

Shake made with frozen mixed berries, 1/2 frozen banana, rice milk, and Trader Joe’s Organic Vanilla Hemp Protein Powder.

I bought this hemp powder a while ago, and couldn’t stomach the flavor.  Now that I’m done the SPPP, I really don’t want to keep using the Complete because it contains a soy ingredient.  Since the Complete also contains hemp protein and I really don’t mind the taste now, I figured I’d give TJ’s another try.  And guess what?  It’s pretty good!

Dinner:

chicken rice soup

rice crackers

gluten-free chocolate chip cookie (Pamela’s Products, 1g sat fat, does contain egg and soy)

candy corn

Snack:

1/2 cup organic honey’d cornflakes

1/2 cup almond milk

