Wow, okay I knew I’d gotten off track, but I didn’t realize it had been almost two weeks!  We’ve had house guests, the World Series (yay, Cards!)Halloween, just got a new dog, plus I wasn’t sure where I was going with the diet, and keeping track of my food intake just fell by the wayside.

In doing some more reading of the MS Recovery Diet, I’ve decided to take a step back.  I was going all out and cutting out all five of the main triggers at once but not quite doing it all the way.  The book recommends that you start by eliminating gluten for a couple weeks and see if that makes any difference, and then taking out dairy, and so on.  It also says that it may take a while to notice any differences, and that keeping a food and symptom diary will help.

My revised plan is to stay gluten- and dairy-free, and keep to 15g or less of saturated fat a day.  I’ve already spent a bunch of time and money on the gluten-free part, and it’s pretty easy at this point to stay dairy-free.  For now I won’t worry as much about the legumes, eggs, and yeast.  Among other things, that will make baking a lot easier!  Just try finding or making a decent bread that does not contain gluten, eggs, or yeast!

I’ll also start being more mindful of my symptoms and how I’m feeling on a day to day basis, and keep track of it here as well as the food.  Hopefully that will make it easier to notice any possible correlations.

 

