Full disclosure:  I have not been feeling well for about a week.  It was mostly digestive upset, and eating made me uncomfortable.  I just kind of figured it would work itself out and I would go ahead with the cleanse.  Unfortunately, it’s stuck around, and with the restricted food availability, I haven’t been eating much.  I’m not a big eater in any circumstance, so when I say I’m not eating much, I mean probably not enough to keep a bird alive!

Day 2:

Breakfast:  smoothie and 5 Cleanse pills

Lunch:  I made soup with vegetable broth, the leftover veggies from day 1, 1/2 can diced tomatoes, and Italian seasoning (ate maybe 1 cup)

Tried to drink another smoothie in the afternoon and take more Cleanse; could only drink a very small amount.  I did later have a few plantain chips with salsa.

I decided the Cleanse pills were not helping my stomach and intestinal upset, so have stopped taking them.  I suppose that means I’m not fully doing the program, but my main goal was to improve my diet, so I will keep up with the food restrictions.

Day 3 (today):

I woke up feeling pretty bad…shaky, out of breath, heart pounding.  I drank the smoothie and that seemed to help a little.  Then I ate 1/2 a pomegranate and that helped a wee bit more.  I’m guessing I just haven’t been eating enough (maybe low blood sugar?), but I still don’t feel like I really want to eat, so it’s a catch 22.  I had a very small amount of salad for lunch.  For supper, we had lentil chili using this recipe (I added celery, cumin, smoked paprika, and a smidge of cayenne).

In an attempt to have something around for me and my son to eat other than vegetables, I did manage to make, and snack on, some “granola”.  It’s actually quite good.  Check out the recipe.

